What's new

Yamaha RX-V677 or Onkyo TX-NR646 (1 Viewer)

Pyro2488

Auditioning
Real Name
Raj
I'm new to av receivers and I was considering to buy a 7.2 channel av receiver but I don't have the knowledge on how to set it up or choose the right speakers for it. I live in Fiji so there aren't many stores that sell av receivers. There are only two stores that sell them. I have only two brand of av receivers to choose from and they are Yamaha RX-V677 and Onkyo TX-NR646. The stores that sell Yamaha and Onkyo are totally different companies. If I buy the Yamaha receiver then I have to set it up myself and also choose the speakers which are compatible with it. If I get the Onkyo receiver then the store that sells it will help me by setting up the receiver at home and also give me compatible speakers for it. I've read on Amazon that a lot of Onkyo receivers have faulty HDMI boards that create problems for the receiver. The Onkyo TX-NR646 costs around $1650 while the Yamaha RX-V677 costs around $1200. I don't want to regret later on If the Onkyo receiver starts having technical problems. There are no Onkyo service centers here either and the company that sells Onkyo receivers in Fiji gives only one year warranty. I heard good reviews for the Yamaha receiver so that why I want to buy it. The only option for speakers to buy are Wharfedale brand speakers. I wanted to know if the Wharfedale Diamond 200 Series 230 floor standing speakers, Wharfedale Quartz QC1 center channel speaker, Wharfedale Quartz Q7 floor standing speakers, Wharfedale Diamond 210 bookshelf speakers and Wharfedale WH-S10 subwoofer are compatible with the Yamaha RX-V677 av receiver. I would be grateful if you guys could help me to choose the the right speakers for it and also tell me more about how to set speaker impedance and frequency.

Last edited:

citywalker

Agent
Real Name
Marco