What's new

Bose Cube Options (1 Viewer)

Sonnyblu42

Auditioning
Real Name
Thomas
Hello! Newbie here...

I have several sound systems all around my home... for different purposes.

But, I have acquired this BO$E Lifestyle 28 Series II system (for free) all except the "Jewel Cube Spkrs"
I already know many answers to my question will be... Just sell it all! But I don't want to... I want to play with it!
And also... I am waiting on the bizarre "Audio Input Cable" 8 pin DIN to JR45 Ethernet (so I can't play yet)

I understand the Specs of the Cubes... Impedance, Freq etc...

So... Why can't I just use any 8 ohm speakers with this Acoustimass Sub? The Cubes are Passive, right?
There must be better spkr options out there that are a lot cheaper. For that matter even BO$E 201, 301

I don't see why I can't just plug any speaker into this LSPS...

Thanks in advance... Has anyone experimented with this?

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
For purposes of playing around, there is no reason you have to stick with the Bose cubes, however the "magic" of Bose is that the Bass Module (not sub) includes a lot of proprietary processing that is designed to overcome the performance limitations of the cubes as well as accentuate the thing(s) they do well.

A huge part of speaker design is the crossover - a lot of people have made careers out of designing crossovers that work specifically with the components and cabinet of the particular speaker in mind.

Hooking up a "regular" speaker to a Bass Module is like second-guessing the original speaker designer's intent - whatever signal is being sent to the speaker from the Bass Module has already been "doctored" specifically for the Bose cubes (they are, after all, one big system).

Ultimately, regular speakers may not sound that different from the cubes, but there would be a reasonably high probability that you won't be realizing the full potential of the speakers.