What's new

Star ceiling panels - several options but no reviews. Advice?? (1 Viewer)

Laura Meyers

Auditioning
Real Name
Laura Meyers
Level Newbie here. We are finally getting the opportunity to have our dream (but smallish) home theater. A star ceiling is at the top of the design wish list. We have a contractor but they are suggesting purchasing panels rather then doing the work for us might be the better route. There are a lot of options and I don't know where to start. We are not "do it yourselfers" and we are in Portland OR which I don't get the impression is a hot bed for home theaters. Any advice would be HUGELY appreciated - have you purchased any pre-made star ceiling panels you'd recommend (or recommend against)? Anything we should look for? Thanks!

nightsky

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Jeff
Hi Laura...

Did you ever figure something out for your star ceiling? I notice that this thread is a few months old, but I thought I'd jump in in case I can help.

Yeah, usually contractors know how to screw in sheetrock screws, run wiring, ducting or whatever it is they do... and don't like taking on new projects. Especially a star ceiling.

Well, star ceilings is something I know a little about. I mostly know about the painted ceilings, because that is what I do for a living, and can answer any questions you have about them... or I can try to get you answers about Fiber optics or a DIY stencil kit.

As a quick reference...

Painted Star Ceilings - Can be expensive, depending on who you have paint it. There are some very good artists, and some not so good artists... so you'll need to be careful. A painted ceiling, when done right, can look very realistic and will leave you in awe. Unlike Fiber Optic star ceilings, they also only works well in a very dark room and they need some source of fluorescent light to charge them up. Black lights are great in a home theater.