What's new

International THE SUN ALSO RISES (1 Viewer)

Ernest

Supporting Actor
The SUN ALSO RISES is available for pre-order on Amazon.uk in dual format Blu-ray/DVD with a release date of July 31st.

Sun.jpg

Robin9

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robin
Yes, I've been keeping my eye on this for several months now. (Amazon UK sends me emails twice a week!) I love this film - and no, I don't care that all the actors are about 15 years too old for the characters they are playing - and I'm hoping desperately that Fox have done a brilliant job.

Robin9

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robin
I watched this Blu-ray disc last night. In most respects it's very good but I wasn't especially impressed by the picture quality which seemed a bit lacklustre. It isn't bad but it's nothing like as good as some we have seen from 20th Century Fox. The sound quality is very good and Hugo Friedhofer's main title theme is given great weight and body and is presented in stereo although the dialogue is all mono.

The " extras" are very good although I haven't yet sampled the commentary. The "making of" documentary includes some very perceptive comments as well as useful information. I also enjoyed the "Hemingway On Film" documentary although I learned little I didn't already know. The audio only conversation with Henry King is excellent.

The disc also has sub-titles.

Last edited:

Charles Ellis

Senior HTF Member