What's new

Oppo UDP 205 vs. Marantz AV8802A (1 Viewer)

MarantzNewb

Auditioning
Real Name
Adam
Hey all!

I have the Marantz AV8802A and just got the Oppo UDP 205. What should I use to decode the audio and video - the Marantz or the Oppo? I'm relatively new to these things. DAC's? I've heard of people setting the receiver to pass-through, setting the Oppo to bitstream, etc. and it's a bit confusing. I want the best and cleanest sound and video for my Atmos system. I'm concerned I'll plug things in, run the sources through a bunch of unnecessary processing, and end up garbled on a OLED 4K / B&W / Def Tech system.

I'm new to setting things like this up - so if I don't make sense, I'll try to clarify :)

Thank you!

A

Last edited:

MarantzNewb

Auditioning
Real Name
Adam
Bump. Anyone? Just curious what I should use for playback? I suppose I could just watch, listen and decide.

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Hey Adam!

Welcome to the forum! :welcome:

Sorry you haven't gotten an answer yet. I'd answer...but its outside my field of expertise. The only thing I know is that I've got the Oppo 203 and the 205 is the super-duper audio version of that unit. So, you are probably best to start letting the Oppo handle all the processing. [At least that's what I would do!]

If a dialogue doesn't start shortly, I'll check back in and move your thread to a different forum and see if we can drum up some answers for ya! :thumbsup:

Robert Crawford

Crawdaddy
Patron
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
I don't have that Marantz model nor the Oppo 205 player. I do have the Oppo 203 player and I utilize the two HDMI outputs by connecting one output directly into my OLED65E6P for video and then connecting the second HDMI output from the player into my Yamaha 3060 for audio processing.

Edwin-S

Premium
Senior HTF Member