What's new

Starting a Digital Library (1 Viewer)

TJPC

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Terry Carroll
I have been collecting Blu rays for many years now. Most come with a digital version. I either have a card for each, or some of the early sets ask you to insert a special disc. I have redeemed only one of these movies because I was interested in the commentary only available that way. I did not bother with the rest because I thought it would take a lot of memory. I see now that you can just stream the movie, once you put in the code.

I thought I could gradually redeem these (the ones not expired of course) on one website if possible and create a library.

I am in Canada, so my choices are limited. I remember the redemption process being easy for the one I already used. Would iTunes be the best choice? Could all of them be deposited there?

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
I am not sure about how Digital Copies work in Canada, but here in the States the best way is probably to go through Movies Anywhere and linking to accounts with iTunes, Vudu, Amazon and Google. You get six free digital movies when you link two or more accounts to Movies Anywhere.

Hopefully someone from Canada will chime in with whatever restrictions may exist with this suggestion for our friends north of the border.

Worth

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Nick Dobbs
In Canada, there's no Movies Anywhere or Vudu. Amazon Video exists, but only for Prime members and the selection is pretty limited.

I believe Google and Cineplex both have decent selections. I have an Apple TV, so I pretty much just stick with iTunes. Some blu-rays come with codes that are redeemable from iTunes - those I'll use, the rest I just toss.

Gary Neuwirth

Stunt Coordinator