New toy (1 Viewer)

Legion

Agent
Real Name
Scott
Hi all.
Well, I have just received my brand new Onkyo HT-S7805 5.1.2
It looks beautiful.
It is not fully set up yet as we have bits we need to sort out first.
But I have done a test to make sure all speakers work and dvd player, games console and tv all work ok.
Most of this came up trumps.
However, the speaker wire that came with system for the surround sound speakers is too short for where we are going to put them. On the speaker cable itself it states 24awg. Anyone have any suggestions about what I should buy?
My second issue is once all was setup I found out I needed a Optical cable as my TV doesn't support ARC. Not too much of a problem as I have seen these online.
But I can not get the TV sound to play through the system? What am I doing wrong?!
Remember, before you all crack up laughing, I am very new to all this, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers all.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
You won't be able to get the TV audio through the receiver until you connect the optical cable from the TV to an input on the receiver, then configure its input in the inputs menu. My impression from your post is that you haven't actually gotten the optical cable yet.

As far as the speaker wire, I'd just get some of THIS. I suspect the receiver and speakers can't receive a larger wire than that. It's much larger than the 24 ga you got with the receiver. In fact, just throw that stuff out and use this instead on all the speakers.

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Scott:

Congrats on the new system!

You are going to LOVE it! Half the fun is setting everything up. So, embrace that challenge and take the time to play with all the features.

The other half--of course--is using the gear and listening to some mind-blowing music and movies.