What's new

Speaker Placement help- 2/3 rows of seating (1 Viewer)

turbonerd12

Agent
Real Name
Emmi
Hi all,
We are building a new house and this is our second home theater. My first one I did myself as a newbie so I'm still learning. I will be wiring in all the speaker wire in a couple of weeks and I'm wondering how I should be placing my speakers. We have 2 rows of seating with another potential for seating at the counter. The first row drops down about 13 inches from the 2 back rows. What do I all need for speaker and where should I place them? Do I need ceiling speakers? Thank you so much for your help!!

Dave Upton

Audiophile
Reviewer
Real Name
Dave Upton
Hi Emmi,

Your image didn't come through, so could you perhaps re-upload it?

I would recommend wiring in the ceiling for atmos (4 channels), as well as 7.2.

The left and right surrounds should ideally be aligned with the primary listening position (PLP) or main row, which is generally the middle one. Try to pick a surround speaker with good dispersion for best performance in the front and back rows.

Here's a nice image showing the overhead speakers as round:

upload_2018-6-25_14-54-56.png

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
A comment on the diagram Dave posted above. Lately I find they often show the surround speakers on stands, when they really should be mounted to a wall, if possible, at ear level or higher. You want as much room between you and the surround speakers as possible.

Dave Upton

Audiophile
Reviewer
Real Name
Dave Upton
A comment on the diagram Dave posted above. Lately I find they often show the surround speakers on stands, when they really should be mounted to a wall, if possible, at ear level or higher. You want as much room between you and the surround speakers as possible.