What's new

Question about 4k TVs and subtitles (1 Viewer)

Jim517

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Jim
I'm looking to buy a 75" 4k TV for our family room. We use subtitles a lot and I was wondering if we are better off with a FALD TV or an edge lit TV?

A couple reviews I watched of FALD TVs showed quite a bit of blooming/glowing around the subtitles, and it looked bad.
Is this common?

I am considering the TCL 75R615(FALD) and the Samsung Q6 from Costco(Edge lit).

Thanks.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I’m not a display expert, but I can’t imagine any reason the lighting method would make any difference in how subtitles would display.

Josh Steinberg

Premium
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Josh Steinberg
No issues with subtitles on my 55” TCL - I use them all the time.

Josh Steinberg

Premium
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Josh Steinberg
The vast majority of what I watch is SDR but no troubles with that! I basically have subtitles on 100% of the time these days.

Edwin-S

Premium
Senior HTF Member
My opinion is that the TV should be purchased based on the picture quality, not how subs might look. A FALD TV is going to have more consistent, uniform, lighting across the entire screen area than an edge lit TV. Frankly, hot spotting along the edges of the TV will become more annoying than a little bit of glow around subtitles.

The easiest way to decide is to actually go to a store, with some subtitled material, and have it played on both types of TVs and then pick the one that looks best to you. If I didn't have an OLED set then my next choice would be a Samsung QLED. Those sets have Blacks nearly as good as OLED sets and I never noticed any type of glowing around the edges of sample material that was being played.

Jim517

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Jim
Thanks Edwin. Of course image quality is most important, but I'm also considering how subtitles will look.