What's new

Anthem ARC vs. Dirac Live (1 Viewer)

Foxman

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Russ
Hey guys and gals, I am a total noob to Anthem. I haven't received it yet, but I just purchased an MRX 520 to replace a Rotel RSP1066 that I purchased around 01-02, prior to HDMI (still going strong FWIW). Anyway, I am using a stand-alone MiniDSP with Dirac Live with my Rotel and was wondering what opinions were in this group on the better room correction. Anthem's or Dirac live? Thanks.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
How are you using the MiniDSP? to process all the channels, and if so,, how is it connected? Or, is it just for subwoofers?

Foxman

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Russ
How are you using the MiniDSP? to process all the channels, and if so,, how is it connected? Or, is it just for subwoofers?
I have the MiniDsp DDRC 88A/BM unit which comes with Dirac Live. I only run a 5.2 set-up. So, as long as I am using separates, it sits between my processor and amp in the chain. If memory serves me correctly, it handles a maximum of 8 channels.

Dave Upton

Audiophile
Reviewer
Real Name
Dave Upton
@JohnRice Here is a link to the unit I have. I also purchased the Bass Management option: https://www.minidsp.com/products/dirac-series/ddrc-88a
Hi Russ,

Anthem room correction really doesn't "stack" with Dirac. If you're happy with the Dirac results - then you can just set trims and use the anthem as you did your prior receiver. You could just for comparison's sake, do a bypass on the MiniDSP and run ARC, so you can compare the two.

Foxman

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Russ