What's new

Opinions on Sony KDL-60EX500 60" LCD (1 Viewer)

Joseph DeMartino

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joseph DeMartino
My sister has a chance to get a pretty much unbeatable deal on one of these sets. (So good that I'm starting to wonder if Sony is about to discontinue this model and the dealer is clearing out his existing stock. ) So this isn't about whether she should buy it or whether another set would be better. There's no way she's going to get a comparable deal on a comparable TV. This is "the one."

It will be replacing a 32" SD CRT. My brother-in-law sees this as the first step toward something like a real home theater and the whole HD thing. My sister sees it as replacing an old TV with something bigger and easier to see from the couch.

Anyway, I have no experience with LCDs in this size or of this recent vintage and I want to know what to tell her to expect in the way of picture quality and if there are any special tweaks or tricks I should be aware of when it comes to this set. From what I've read it sounds like the 120 Hz mode can be turned off (which I told her to confirm with the dealer) - and that was a real issue in my mind.

The room it is going into is one of the worst imaginable for a home theater: 20 foot ceilings, open floor plan, loft space at the back of the room, tile floors, formica, stell and glass furniture, leather couch, and a wall full of windows and glass doors on one side. There is a single 5 x 3 rug under the coffee table.