What's new

Trying to Decide between PS VR and a Switch (1 Viewer)

Dave Scarpa

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
David Scarpa
I have a PS4 and I've been thinking about getting the VR headset, but I also think I might enjoy the Switch I've been a fan of portable gaming in the past with the PSP and Vita. Looking to getting a Gift for myself for Xmas, but not sure which one. Both have games I'm interested in, of course I've never used VR before not sure how I would take it, I am a glass wearer if that makes a difference.

Bryan^H

Senior HTF Member
Super Mario Odyssey is hands down one of the most fun/best games I have ever played. It is the reason to own a Switch. Also Zelda Breath of the Wild is amazing. Two masterpiece games for the Switch both with the great sense of exploration, and discovery. Personally I'd go with the Switch, but VR is pretty amazing too.

Morgan Jolley

Senior HTF Member
The Switch isn't quite a handheld. It's more of a portable console. So if you like Nintendo's first-party console games, then the Switch is a good bet.

However, PSVR is also amazing and offers a very unique set of games that you won't find elsewhere (though a lot of the offerings are on PC VR headsets). The one huge difference between VR and Switch is, well, portability and ease of use. VR takes time to set up initially and use, whereas the Switch goes from "off/rest mode" to "in the game doing stuff" within like 3 seconds.

What kind of games or experiences do you prefer? Have you owned a Nintendo system in the past and enjoyed Mario, Zelda, etc.?

CraigF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Craig