What's new
Signup for GameFly to rent the newest 4k UHD movies!

Aspect Ratio Question regarding Blu-ray vs DVD [1958's Thunder Road] (1 Viewer)

ihatetivo

Auditioning
Real Name
Steve
Total noob here, but I have to ask. I've owned 1958's Thunder Road on DVD forever. I recently purchased the 2023 Blu-ray and eagerly watched it. While doing so, I had a nagging feeling that things I'd been used to seeing were now out-of-frame. So, I did a comparison and two excerpts are below. First is the Blu-ray and second is the DVD. As you can see, the Blu-ray shows much less in the vertical direction, but doesn't seem to offer much more width horizontally.

Question: Are my observations typical of Blu-ray vs DVD formats? Does the 1.85:1 Blu-ray now appear as it would have been shown in the theater?

Regardless, thanks in advance for the time and patience.
1 Blu.JPG

2 dvd.JPG

Josh Steinberg

Premium
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Josh Steinberg
Until much more recent times, films meant to be shown theatrically with a 1.85:1 aspect ratio were shot on a film negative that has a shape that was roughly 1.37:1. The 1.85:1 aspect ratio would be achieved in projection by using aperture plates and masking to crop the top and bottom off to achieve the intended ratio.

Although extra visual information existed on the camera negative, the filmmakers never intended for you to see that information.

But because the television aspect ratio of 1.33:1 is pretty much the same as the uncropped negative, transfers made to run on TV were often made revealing this extra information, and some of those transfers made their way to DVD.

In short, the 1.85:1 Blu-ray is a more accurate representation of what the filmmakers intended and what audiences originally saw in theaters.

ihatetivo

Auditioning
Real Name
Steve