What's new
Signup for GameFly to rent the newest 4k UHD movies!

Discussion thread for the documentary "De Palma" (A24, 2015) (1 Viewer)

The Drifter

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jim
I recently saw the truly superb documentary De Palma (A24, 2015) on Blu-ray. This is my first time ever seeing this, which is somewhat surprising - given that I'm such a fan. This is an excellent doc. which covers De Palma's early films through his early 20XX's work. I enjoyed his personal history re: his family life growing up; how he got into film; anecdotes/stories about the movies he's made/directed over the years; etc.

Seeing the doc. reminded me that I haven't seen all of his early & more obscure films, including A Wedding Party, Get to Know Your Rabbit, etc. Some of these are difficult to find these days on home video and/or streaming.

It's interesting that some of his films that didn't do that great when they were first released (critically and/or commercially) are actually at the top of my list - these include Phantom of the Paradise (1974), Body Double (1984) & Snake Eyes (1998), among others.

Some interesting anecdotes re: his films:

-De Palma didn't like working with Cliff Robertson on Obsession (1976) & found him difficult, etc. However, from seeing the film (which I just re-watched recently) - I would never have guessed this. And, I felt that CR was perfectly cast in the role.
- Bob Hoskins was considered for the role of Al Capone in The Untouchables (1987).
- The plot elements from Dressed to Kill (1980) which involve Peter Miller (Keith Gordon) following his mother to the psychiatrist's office are actually partially autobiographical.