What's new
World Wide Stereo

From a 2 channel HT system, what next: subwoofer or center channel speaker? (1 Viewer)

AkamaiGuy

Auditioning
Real Name
Russell
Hi All,

I'm a noob to HT gear (and this site), but have been doing a ton of research as I embark upon building an HT system from scratch. My primary focus is building a system for 1080p movies and TV rather than music or video-gaming. My den is fairly small (I'll be sitting about 9' away from the screen in a room that is about 11' x 14' and has a hardwood floor and a 9' plaster ceiling). I'd rather buy a few moderately-high quality components (spending the main money on the TV and the BluRay player) and 2 speakers and then build a 5.1 system over the next couple of years. Depending on finances, I will be getting:

TV: Panasonic TC-P50VT25 50" plasma TV or a Magnolia show room demo Pioneer Signature Elite 101FD 50" monitor

Player: Oppo BDP83 BluRay player

Receiver: Leaning towards a Marantz NR1501 or Pioneer VSX1020-k

Speakers: Leaning towards a pair of Polk RTi A1 bookshelf speakers

My main question is what would do me the most good next, to buy a good subwoofer (I'm thinking a Polk MicroPro 2000 or a Polk DSW PRO 500) or to buy a center channel speaker (probably a Polk CSi A4 if I get the pair of RTi A1s)?

Whichever I buy, the next step would be to buy the other component and then eventually get 2 rear speakers, but I just haven't read much on whether a 3 speaker (L, C, R) system would be better than a 2.1 in a small room such as mine.

Any ideas?

p.s. I don't have to get Polk speakers, and I'd consider Onkyo or something else for the receiver but all the non TV components need to be about $550 each or less.

--Russell

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
Hi Russell,