What's new

How to install a wireless microphone to my home theater system. (1 Viewer)

Harpies

Auditioning
Real Name
Jason
Hi
I want to purchase a wireless microphone for my Panasonic SC-PT956 DVD Player/Home Theater System. This system does not have karaoke feature. Therefore, there isn't any microphone input/hole. I'm wonder is the wireless microphone means I just need to connect the power adapter into the machine, any other line? Because if the wireless microphone system still require an mic hole that I'm not going to buy it. I'm a absolute newbie to home theater system , hope you guys understand what my question is.

Stephen Tu

Screenwriter
You probably should ask in a karaoke oriented forum. You'll need a microphone pre-amp/mixer of some kind. Probably there are some combo mixer/wireless microphone systems, while others would require a separate pre-amp unit. Karaoke-DVD players would have microphone inputs and you could plug that into the system.

AudioENG

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Tim
Is this a specific wireless mic that you are looking at? The way most would work is, there is a base and a microphone. The base would connect to the wall (for power) and would also connect to your amp (usually a standard low-Z mic cable connection or 1/4" stereo connection) so buying a wireless mic alone would not work. Many places (online and radioshack) would sell a mini mixer unit that you could connect your wireless mic base to then it would have a standard RCA (red and white) output connection that you could connect to an aux input on your receiver.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2102920&tab=features

So all in all depeding on the wireless mic you need:
Wireless mic with base
Mixer unit with RCA output
Cable from wireless mic base to mixer unit
Cable from mixer unit to receiver

Harpies

Auditioning
Real Name
Jason