What's new
World Wide Stereo

Opinions, please, on new Home Theater options! (1 Viewer)

dnphilli

Auditioning
Real Name
Dan
Hello all,

Yet another noob here with looking to set up a modest new home theater with the meager returns from my income tax! My tv is a 50" LG 1080p plasma, and I am looking for home theater options for approximately $500. I was leaning toward a Onkyo HTiB, possibly the 7300 which I've found for about $540 shipped, but the general consensus seems to be that this would result in a good receiver, not so good speakers. I really want a nice sounding system to enjoy my 800+ movie collection on, so am I better off trying to piece together a system on such a limited budget? I have a very old Pioneer receiver I am replacing (VSX-3600) which has been solid and lasted for many years, and I have a couple of Advent Baby II bookshelf speaker that still sound good, so maybe I could still use these as the rear surround? If so, through much digging I discovered these:

Polk Audio M10 2-way bookshelf speakers $79.99/pr @ Newegg

Polk Audio CS10 center speaker $99.99 @ Newegg

Polk Audio PSW10 10" powered subwoofer $99.99 @ Newegg

Pioneer VSX-920-k HDMI Receiver $259.99 shipped (new) on eBay.

Total cost for about: $540, or the same as the Onkyo system.

Would this setup be superior to the Onkyo 7300 home theater in a box??

Another possibility, slightly more expensive, is on Amazon I can also get the same Pioneer receiver with a Klipsch HD 500 Compact 5.1 Home Theater System with 8" Sub for $599.

Really not sure what to do! I've read up on the Onkyo receivers which seem to have a good reputation, except for some overheating issues. I know Klipsch speakers also have a good reputation... The Pioneer however, seems to have a better upconverting method (Anchor Bay) which is a big consideration to me since I have an extensive DVD collection.

Any advice appreciated!

Dan

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton