What's new
World Wide Stereo

Questions regarding Onkyo TX-SR605 (1 Viewer)

Just Dan

Auditioning
Real Name
Dan Prince
Hi folks, my name is Dan. I am new to this whole forum thing, and I need some help from one of you experts. Here's my problem. I upgraded from my old Yamaha Dolby Digital-DTS 5.1 receiver to the Onkyo TX-SR605, mainly because I wanted the 7.1 surround capabilities. I also had to upgrade my old Yamaha sub to a Boston Acoustics HPS 10SE, because the Onkyo wouldn't detect my old sub in the speaker set up mode. Anyway, after doing the whole audyssey crap, I tried watching a blu-ray disc via my PS3, on a 65" Mitsubishi 1080P DLP T.V., and my sub sounded like garbage. I've read some other threads with somewhat similar issues, so please don't yell at me for not searching. I tried adjusting crossovers, freq., and hz.(none of which I understand) and the sub still sounds like it's barely on. I have to crank up my receiver damn near the whole way to get even a tiny thump. I know something isn't right, but I'm clueless. In addition, I don't even know how to watch a movie or television show in Dolby Digital or DTS!! On my listening mode, it says " All Ch St", and I am less than pleased with surround effects. I can cycle through all my listening modes, but none say Dolby Digital or DTS. I know the basic connections are correct, HDMI cables, speaker wires, etc.
But I had no idea I was going to have to know how to set this thing up and calibrate crap, and frequencies and hertz?

Anyway, sorry it's so long, but I'll sum up what I want here:

1. I want my sub to pound!!! I paid $300 for it, and I want to be able to turn the volume knob on the back of it up or down, depending on the need for bass. Just like I used to be able to do with my old Yamaha sub. (I hooked my new sub up to my old Yamaha receiver, and it pounded pretty good, so I know it works)