What's new
Signup for GameFly to rent the newest 4k UHD movies!

HDTV Programming problem (1 Viewer)

Bill Griffith

Supporting Actor
I'm new to the HD Cable side of things so I'm wondering what this is all about.

I have acces to only 9 HD channels, 5 local and 4 movie (2 Sho and 2 HBO). I was watching the news before the oscars last night trying to get my picture as good as possible on the HD channel. They were showing some news stuff and I noticed the picture wasn't fitting on my screen. I have never seen this problem before. I tried all four video modes my TV does and nothing. I don't believe its a matter of positioning iether since I was losing picture on the bottom and on the top and on the sides.

I also noticed it was only with some shows as the commercials seem to come in OK, as did the Oscars.

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Patrick Sun

Senior HTF Member
Not everything being broadcasted over the HDTV channels will be in the 16x9 form factor. There is still 4:3 material being broadcast over the HDTV feeds. The feed will have sidebars processed into the video feed for the 4:3 shows (also local news shows).

If a show is "hard matted" for letterbox, but is really inside a 4:3 window, it's going to have black bars all around the video portion. Shows like Angel and Enterprise do this on HDTV displays (both 16x9 RPTVs and 4:3 RPTVs).

Bill Griffith

Supporting Actor
Yeah I've seen the bars on the side with the channel and call sign, and that really doesn't bother me, however what I'm trying to describe is something I've never seen before