Real Name
Dave
Mother-forking shirtballs!
Tgp GIF by The Good Place

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
I’ve been a universal remote user since about 1999. I’ve been a Harmony owner for probably 15+ years. I don’t want to live in a world without universal remotes. The cacophony of living with multiple garbage remotes like the AppleTV remote is too horrible to imagine.

I’m good for now. I’ve got my Harmony elite for the living room. And my URC MX-780 remains competent in the theater / hasn’t been worth the trade off to try and replace it with a Harmony.

But in a few years...what then? <shudders>

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
Well, that sucks. I have been using their remotes for many years. I just ordered another 665 model to have in case my current remote dies. Not sure what else is out there that can work seamlessly. I do have some cheap RCA remotes on the TV's in our South Carolina condo that can control both the TV and a Roku, but they will not work for a full-blown home theater setup.

Last edited:

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
It's rather devastating news.

Logitech really carved out a niche in the remote market. Nobody was able to match their consumer-grade remotes.

Not quite sure why they suddenly abandoned making remotes.

Perhaps there was nowhere else to go. The last remote they made was the HARMONY EXPRESS. I had one. It was a voice-powered remote.

However, within a year of its release, Logitech informed their customers it was abandoning the remote and ended up sending every one of their customers a brand-new top-of-the-line Harmony Elite replacement.

Perhaps that was the first sign that something was wrong at Logitech.

Even if Logitech wasn't planning on evolving their remotes further, I have trouble understanding why they chose to abandon their entire line.