What's new

Can Bose ACM10 II Base be swapped with Bose ACM5 II Base? (2 Viewers)

RL0205

Agent
Real Name
Robbie
I'm a Senior and not Tech Savvy; have Bose WHITE ACM 10 II and ACM5 II systems. Will be replacing 1 speaker of ACM 10 II, but Best Buy said ACM 10 II Base Unit is not working. Was planning to swap ACM5 II Base Unit not being used but '10' has 5 Double Cubed speakers and '5' seems to only allow 4 speakers to be connected. Since a Senior, trying to keep cost to a minimum and seems like swapping '10'to '5' Base is not doable.

Best Buy suggest getting rid of Bose and replace with Definitive Technology ProCinema 6D or Definitive Technology Pro Cinema 800 as I thought I read that the 6D Subwoofer wasn't as good. Since they said '800' Speakers are much larger than my Bose Speakers, I was wondering if they would be able to use the 6D Speakers with the ProSub 800 instead.

I also read on this Forum that it could be that one of the FUSE on the Base could have 'blown'?? Not sure how to check that or do you think my ACM 5 bought in 1992 and ACM 10 bought in 2001 is too OLD and should be replaced? Have White walls and White ACM looks good; hate to really put up Black speakers on White wall but might not have any choice. Sorry POST is so long; but first time and I would appreciate anyone helping an OLD Senior with suggestions/recommendations/comment. Thank you in advance for your time.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
The Definitive Technology systems will undoubtably sound better than the Bose speakers.

However, the problem with the Best Buy advice is that the Def Tech systems are speakers only, while your Bose set-ups are full systems complete with front-end electronics.