What's new

Watts Per Channel/AV Receiver Architecture Questions? (4 Viewers)

Doug2000

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Doug
I'm new to HT (but not to audio) so I'm trying to understand how to best interpret the specs on HT AV Receivers regarding watts per channel. The units have many channels but the spec seem to only show watts per for the two front channels. Is there any way to find the power rating for the other channels?

For example, I looked at the Marantz SR8012 (but it seems the same for other manufacturers). This unit has 11 channels. Per the specs its rated at 140 watts per channel. The fine detail says" "The continuous power rating (in watts) for each stereo speaker output channel when the receiver is in stereo mode." So for example, is it published anywhere how many watts this unit pushes for the other 9 channels in surround mode?

And further why would they specify "in stereo mode" unless the fronts have less power in the various surround modes?. do the Front Left & Right get different wattage when the unit is in surround mode (vs Stereo mode)? Are these kinds of specs published anywhere from any of the manufacturers? I briefly looked at specs from a couple other brands - seems the same.

My going in assumption is these units have separate amps for each channel. Is that incorrect? Do they have some kind of technology that allows them to distribute the units total reservoir of power across whatever channels are being used depending on the mode the unit is in (surround/stereo/etc)?

Clinton McClure

Rocket Science Department
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Clint
There’s no real way to check this. Most, if not all, manufacturers list their power ratings with some ridiculous number like “one channel driven at 200Khz with 10% THD”.